Pork Scratchings

In the UK we love Pork Scratchings, in USA these are call Pork Rinds.In the UK Store bought pork rinds are usually full of sugar and wheat. So even if they say they are low carb or even zero carb they still have ingredients that can cause a stall. Some people are lucky that these rogue ingredients do not affect them and don’t create a stall. I cannot eat store bought ones as they spike my Blood Glucose and will cause a stall. I have no choice but to make my own. 

I developed this way of making pork rinds by looking at a few ingredients and tweaking, My cousin Jennie also gave me some great tips. 

In the UK you can buy a pack of pork skins for less than a pound. They are rolled up so I straighten them out and put them in a zip lock bag and freeze them. I like to have a stock in ready.

  
I cut each strip into approxiamately 4 strips, use a good strong pair of kitchen scissors as it is hard work doing this. I then cut each strip into 3 pieces.
  

Then place in a saucepan and cover with cold water, bring to the boil and simmer for 20-30 minutes. Strain them and put on a baking sheet. 

  
I usually do this while I’m cooking dinner and have the oven on. Once I have finished cooking I turn the oven off and place the pork skins in the oven. The point of this is to dry the skins out before frying them. I leave them in the oven for about an hour.

 
I have a rotary fryer that I can use solid fat in, but check yours if you have one as some manufacturers have a warning on them. I do not recommend cooking pork rinds in the oven as they spit a lot and believe me they make a mess that is hard to clean up. The best way in my opinion is to use a sealed in electric fryer. I use Beef dripping(tallow), it gives the best flavour in my opinion.
  
Cook the skins in the fryer on the hottest heat setting until puffy and golden. If they are still a bit floppy then cook for a bit longer. I usually pour them onto kitchen paper and roll it around to drain off any fat.

  
 I then lay them in a tray and season them with salt and pepper. They are best left to cool and put in a ziplock bag in the fridge as this crisps them up a bit more.
I run a facebook group which you can find here

https://www.facebook.com/groups/316962535059691/
My facebook page is here
https://www.facebook.com/Myketogenicjourney?ref=bookmarks

Leave a Reply

